5 Things That I Can Live Without


Sarovar – a marbel house, in the shape of a boat
that acrosses the Ocean of Life symbolically
with the symbols of all world-religions on top of the house

 

Dear friends,

A blogging friend of mine has nominated me to give 5 answers every day lasting 20 days. Thanks, dear friend πŸ™‚
Here is her site: https://daysixtyfive.com/

Day 3:
5 Things That I Can Live Without

1.) I do not need pomp or luxury – I prefer a life of simplicity.

2.) I live without meat, drugs (any kind), eggs, fish. So I am a lacto-vegetarian for some reasons: ethical reason, not to even passively support the killing of animals, karmic reason: everything undergoes karmic reactions, so there is no way out to avoid karma, even when eating, but plant-food is living food, not dead food. Holy people said in this connection: “Do not make your body a grave…” as meat is dead – and since I am a vegi since many many years, I smell the odour of decomposition whenever I am in the super-market going shopping, having sometimes to pass by the meat-department…

Saints described the karmic effect that animal-food has a higher load of karma (karmic effects) than vegetarian food – this has something to do with consciousness as well:

Excerpt from: The spiritual aspect of the vegetarian diet (Sant Kirpal Singh)

http://www.kirpalsingh-teachings.org/index.php/en/circular-letters/122-the-spiritual-aspect-of-the-vegetarian-diet.html

“In the minerals – life is asleep,
In the plants – life dreams,
In the birds and every beast, life awakes,
and in man life is already awake.

Thus, we are brothers of all creatures, plants, birds and other animals. The flowers and trees, sparrows and pigeons are like members of our own kind. How simple, pure, loving and beautiful they are! We should learn from them to lead a life of purity, sacred simplicity and divine love.”
Sant Kirpal Singh

While eating living food (plants) we get life into our body, while eating meat and fish (dead food) we bring death in our body.

But we all have to decide for ourselves what to eat, how to eat, in which thought and atmosphere we eat, as we all are responsible for ourselves (so it is not my task to convince anybody to eat vegetarian food – he or she has to decide him- or herself – but it is also good to inform ourselves from the spiritual point of view about it.

When I was much younger I myself have been a meat- and fish-eater, so I know the other side very well too…

3.) It is good to live without anger, hate, greed, lust, attachment – in this way we can control our mind that always tries to control us.

4.) To live without lies and half-truths, any crime done to others.

5.) To live without violence in thoughts, words and deeds and also to be without imperiousness, wilful deception, deceit, hypocrisy, dishonest earned income (money should be earned by the sweat of our brow – no gambling or bets etc.), no vanity of knowledge, pride to have possession (as God has made us to administer His possessions and gifts He has given us – as nothing belongs to us – only the ego tells: this is mine…) and last but not least I can be without “intoxication of influence and power”.

At least I try to avoid this all that I have mentioned, although I am not always successful… as I am on my developing way, not perfect and still with plenty of shortcomings that needs to be rooted out…

Thank you for your attention.
All what is good for your soul.
Didi

For tomorrow (day 4): 5 Pet Peeves

 

2 comments on “5 Things That I Can Live Without

Leave a Reply

