How Sant Kirpal Singh met His Master 7 years before He saw Him physically

 
 
Dear friends,
 
Today I want to share with the story how Sant Kirpal Singh met His Master.
Thank you for your attention.
Love and Oneness
Didi
 
 


Sant Kirpal Singh

 
 
 


Baba Sawan Singh

 
 

Sant Kirpal Singh reports from His own life:
 
I used to pray: “Oh God, I’m convinced that without one who knows You, nobody can reach You.” It is a practical matter of self-analysis. God cannot be known by the outgoing faculties, by the vital airs or by the intellect. It is a matter of seeing: whoever sees can make you see. “I know there’s a need – definitely: all scriptures say so. I’m quite convinced, but where am I to go? Suppose I go to somebody who has not met You – what will be my fate?” I used to pray like that. “If You could reveal Yourself to the old Saints” – sometimes there are stories like that – “why can’t You do it in my case? I am convinced, I’ve great regard for that need, but there are so many Masters – whom shall I select?” With this, my Master (Baba Sawan Singh) began to appear to me when I sat in meditation or when I was doing something. I thought perhaps it was Guru Nanak. He used to talk to me. In those days there was the First Great War, and my brother was on the Indian front along the Persian side. I used to traverse along with Him and went to those places, here, there and everywhere.
The Guru appears when the disciple is ready.
 
I was very fond of rivers, ponds, water. Even in my young life, I used to go and sit by the waterside or some river, the whole night through, in a calm and quiet place. The running water helps a little to concentrate. So this went on for some time. In the meantime, I was first at Peshawar, and then I was transferred to Nowshera station: a river runs by there. I used to sit by that riverside for hours. Then I came to Jhelum’s side. That is also by the riverside, and I sat there for hours on end. I was very fond of swimming, too. (Just enter the river: if you’re not afraid, nothing will happen; it’s only fear that kills you. If you simply shake your foot a little or move your hands a little, you won’t drown.)
 
In the meantime I was transferred to Lahore: that was also by the riverside. I passed my days there. There was also the river Beas: “Let me have a look at that!” One Sunday morning I left by train and detrained at Beas station. There was an old man there; he was the station master. I asked him which side the river flows. He was (Bua Das), a devotee of the Master: “Do you want to see the Master?” – “Does a Master live here?” – “Yes!” “Where?” – “On the riverside.” I told him, “I have two things now. I’ll enjoy the river scenery and also see the Master at the same time.” Then he directed me there. Master was sitting upstairs; He was taking His meal inside. I went out and sat outside. After half an hour or so, He came out. I was wonder-struck: He was the same man who had been appearing to me for seven years before, from 1917 to 1924. I paid homage to Him: “Why so late?” He said, “That was the most opportune time that you are to come.”
 
So this is how I met the Master. “The Guru appears when the chela (disciple) is ready” – even to the most skeptical mind. Perhaps none of you has been so skeptical as I was; I was afraid, you see, lest I go to somebody who had not met God; and my life would be spoiled.
 
When I went to Him, then – once or twice, every Sunday I used to go – He looked after me like a father looks after his son coming: “All right, arrange this room, bring this bedding”, this and that thing. I requested, “Well, Master, don’t You worry, I’m here, at Your feet.” – “All right, now, you’ll have to look after this Dera (Ashram); go on with it. Those who come, you’ll look after them.” These were the words He expressed, the very first time.
 
The next time there was initiation – this was early February – and all were sitting in initiation. Master said, “You sit inside.” I will come. He gave initiation there; I was inside, sitting in His room. This is how I was initiated! I was waiting for Him; perhaps He will call me. I was sitting inside. Then He returned. I asked Him, “Will you kindly initiate me?” – “Oh yes, surely.” What the mystery of life is – what is a man, what is a soul – was solved in little or no time.
 
A qualification of a Master is given as one who can give you some experience. Some say, “All right, go here; here are maps to show you the way; go by this road, or turn right, then left; this or that.” Sometimes you have to hunt for hours, and you do not find the way. But a Master is one who gives you some experience to start with, who can appear and remove the dark veil by giving a sitting; and you can testify that it is so. You are not to wait until after death or until after many years. He does not tell you, “All right, go on; you’ll have it in due course.” You’ll find that it is so with most of the teachers: “All right, do some regular meditation; some reaction from the past might help you.” But the competency of the Master lies in the fact that He is able and competent to give experience to the learned or the unlearned, to a man off the street.
 
It so happened that there was some controversy when our Master became a Master – I mean, took up the role of the Master. (He was a Master, but He took up the role of the Master.) When others asked, “Why, how can you become a Master?” He was very polite and very humble. He never liked to get into a controversy. After they kept pushing the point, He said, “All right. Catch some five or six people off the street, make them sit, and give them some experience. I will also catch some, and then we’ll see who can carry it out!” That’s all: to give the ultimate goal and what to do to reach it. So this is how I met my Master.
 
Generally, when people ask me, “What is Your date of birth?” I tell them, “I have three birthdays: first when I was born in the flesh; second when I met Him inside seven years before; and third when I met Him physically.”
 
These are the gifts of God. I was very afraid because generally, you’ll find that Masters simply tell you, “Go on reading scriptures.” That is right; that is the first step. But you cannot have the right import of the scriptures unless you meet somebody who has that experience: he alone is able to give you an experience, to give you the right understanding and the right import of the scriptures. Because, what are the scriptures? They are the fine records of the experiences that the Masters had in their lives. Then, perform one ritual or the other; that’s all right for the preparation of the ground. But seeing is something else: it only arises when you analyse yourself when you rise above body-consciousness and you testify that there is Light. A Master is also defined as one who can make the Music of the Spheres audible. Who can give you Light and Music of the Spheres? What are these two? These are the two aspects of the God-into-expression Power. God has no equal, no father, no mother – nothing of the sort. Only He who is Word personified can give you the experience of that Power, the very first day. Even the blind man has that inner eye, called the single eye. Scriptures tell us, “If thine eye be single, thy whole body shall be full of light … If you shut the doors of the temple of the body, you’ll see the light of heaven.” That is called the third eye or shiv netra; there are so many names for it. These are the basic teachings that give you the ultimate contact with that reality. Philosophies deal with theories. This is what is called mysticism: it gives you contact with reality – that reality which came into expression. Psychology works at the level of the intellect. This does not work at the level of the intellect; it works only when you are intellectually stilled. In psychology and philosophy, you have two: a subject and an object. And in mysticism, there is no duality: you have direct contact with the God-into-expression Power. The more you are unattached from outside, the more you have an ethical way of living, the more you come in contact with that Power; and, like an electric lift, it will take you to the place from where it emanated.
 
God came into expression from the wordless state as Light and Sound: “The Word was made flesh and dwelt amongst us.” That Power which manifests in some human pole is called the God-power or the Master-power or the Gurupower: Christ lived before Jesus, mind that, and lives forever. This is what St. John said. But we only ruminate over the scriptures, we don’t follow what is what. Once a man starts with the wrong thing, others follow him blindly. How many are there who can give you a first-hand experience? They may say, “All right, go on meditating,” and some may get an experience, but others may not. This is where the competency lies: because of the God in Him, not the son of man.
 
Someone asked our Master, “How should we address you?” He said, “Take me as your brother, as your father, as your friend, as your teacher. Just act up to what I say. When you rise above the body and you find Him inside, too, and there He is also competent to guide you, then you will call me by any name you like.”
 
 

One comment on “How Sant Kirpal Singh met His Master 7 years before He saw Him physically

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.